Round 2 Recipe

ROUND TWO! If it wasn’t apparent from the pictures the zucchini I had was huge, ginormous, astronomical. I literally have so many zucchini noodles they may become a staple in my life. In my research online I learned that they don’t freeze well and just turn into a watery mess when defrosted so I guess I’ll be eating them till they are all gone.

picstitch (3)

I have already done one fabulous recipe so why not a second? I am crazy about Thai food I mean insane. What’s yummier than Pad Thai you ask? How about Pad Thai with zucchini noodles! Not only does it cut the calories way down but it bumps up the nutritional factors too! I’ve done Pad Thai before but the great thing about the recipe is it is very versatile. This time I added a few different veggies with great flavors!!

Veggified Pad Thai

  • 1 chopped carrot (about a ½ cup)
  • ½ red pepper chopped
  • ½ green pepper chopped
  • 1 chicken breast (seasoned with garlic salt and pepper)
  • 1 garlic clove, grated
  • ½ small yellow onion chopped
  • ¼ cup cilantro
  • Juice of ½ lime

Sauce:

  • ¼ cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp chili garlic sauce
  • ¼ cup soy sauce
  • ¼ cup stir fry sauce
  • 3 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 garlic clove, grated

picstitch (2)

 

-Precook the zucchini noodles by adding a small amount of water to the pan and adding a lid to steam the noodles. They will release a good amount of water that you will not want. Drain the noodles.

-Chop all veggies, chicken, and grate down the garlic (I used a micro plane)

-Mix all ingredients for the sauce with a whisk until smooth (be careful it tends to splash) Sauce will be a little thick don’t worry it will dilute when added to the other ingredients. Set aside.

-Saute the chicken by cooking for 6min or so on each side (remember brown food is good food) Add the carrots and onion and saute further till the onions are translucent but still crisp.

-Add the rest of the veggies and saute. Add 1/2 of the sauce and put a lid on the pot for about 5min to steam the veggies.

-Add the zucchini noodles and the rest of the sauce. Toss to coat. Finish with  fresh cilantro and lime juice. I had some left overs as the zucchini will whither down a lot. I added it to brown rice!

Happy Friday! Stay tuned for a few end of summer recipes as we hit the last weekend of summer. Obviously its party time!!

One thought on “Round 2 Recipe

Leave a Reply

