Tidal… Making Waves?

Music Streaming- Tidal Making Waves--

Blanc, Martin. Digital image. Bidnessetc. N.p., 31 Mar. 2015. Web. 16 Apr. 2015.

Rihanna came out with a new song BBHMM… So I see the performance on IHeart Radio Music Awards and basically die. Can I dance to this song immediately… play on repeat until I hate myself. I currently have an account with Spotify which was .99 for three months (quite a deal right??) So I’m looking and I’m looking and I’m changing the spelling, looking it up by the artist, getting into a panic.

So it’s not on Spotify… picture me going crazy basically. Then I remembered this picture from Instagram:

imgres

What the F is Tidal and why Jay-Z why??? Tidal is a new company making waves and it is more for the artists than anything. Artists that agree to work with Tidal give rights for their music to be exclusively on Tidal and they also include exclusive tracks and videos that can only be seen on Tidal. The great thing about it is artists are able to make more money on streaming. The thing is besides extra money on streaming what are they really getting?

Taylor Swift is point one. She did not allow her CD to be streamed on Spotify but it has been streaming on Tidal since it was announced as a new Jay-Z project. So… is it because Jay-Z is offering more money?

imgres

Kendrick Lamar is point two he agreed to have his CD streamed on Spotify he set a record for 9.6 million streams of an album on the 1st day. If that’s not extra money in the pocket I don’t know what is. Its not just about that its is amount of new and old fans that were talking about and discussing the important points that this album possesses. He was able to reach more fans and cater to those that already know his music.

Kastrenakes, Jacob. “Kendrick Lamar Sets Spotify World Record with 9.6 Million Streams from New Album in a Day.” The Verge. 7 Mar. 2017. Web. 16 Apr. 2015. <http://www.theverge.com/2015/3/17/8237311/kendrick-lamar-spotify-record-album-streams&gt;.

imgres

Many artists are speaking out against Spotify and are making very valid points:

“If I had been Jay-Z I would have brought out ten artists that were underground or independent and said, ‘These are the people who are struggling to make a living in today’s music industry. Whereas this competitor streaming site pays this person 15 cents for X amount of streams, that same amount of streams on my site, on Tidal, will pay that artist this much,’” Gibbard explained. “I think they totally blew it by bringing out a bunch of millionaires and billionaires and propping them up onstage and then having them all complain about not being paid… this thing is going to fail miserably.”

Ben Gibbard, Death Cab for Cutie

Despite her love for Jay Z, due to the price point for the service “people are going to swarm back to pirate sites in droves, sending traffic to torrent sites. Up and coming (not yet millionaires) artists are going to suffer as a result… my concern is that Tidal may set emerging artists back.”

Lily Allen

“We wouldn’t have joined it anyway, even if they had asked. We don’t want to be tribal. I think smaller bands should get paid more for it, too. Bigger bands have other ways of making money, so I don’t think you can complain. A band of our size shouldn’t be complaining. And when they say it’s artist-owned, it’s owned by those rich, wealthy artists.

“What I’m not into is the tribalistic aspect of it — people trying to corner bits of the market, and put their face on it. That’s just commercial bullshit. We hire people to do that for us rather than having to do that ourselves. We just want to play music, and I don’t want to align myself with Spotify, Beats, Tidal, or whatever. We want people to listen to our music in their most comfortable way, and if they’re not up for paying for it, I don’t really care.”

Marcus Mumford, Mumford and Sons

Schneider, Mark. “http://www.billboard.com/articles/business/6531788/tidal-blew-it-all-the-artists-that-have-hammered-tidal.&#8221; Billboard. 14 Apr. 2015. Web. 16 Apr. 2015. <http://www.billboard.com/articles/business/6531788/tidal-blew-it-all-the-artists-that-have-hammered-tidal&gt;.

I tried it for 30 days and I don’t see the appeal. I found it hard to navigate and the playlist options were very few. I will be sticking to Spotify at $9.99 a month and not moving to Tidal at $19.99 a month. In reading through all the articles and really only getting Tidal for Rihanna I’d rather just buy her CD when it comes out and let it live for eternity. Plus BBHMM popped up on Spotify 3 weeks later… lol.

The main questions is what do you think??? Tidal or no Tidal?

Leave a Reply

